On July 8, 1920, the General Assembly proposed a constitutional amendment to create Seminole County. According to the 1920 constitutional amendment, Seminole County was to be laid out from the Counties of Decatur and Early. However, specific language in the constitutional amendment actually provided that the southern borders of Miller and Early counties constituted Seminole County's northern border. Thus, Seminole County was created entirely from Decatur County. Georgia's 156th county was named for the Seminole Indians, who once lived in this area.

Click on the image below for an interactive road map.

Annexation and Deannexation Reporting << Click Here >>

Southwest Georgia

Regional Commission


181 East Broad Street

Camilla, GA, 31730



(229)522-3558 fax

Print | Sitemap
© Southwest Georgia Regional Commission