Baker County was created on Dec. 12, 1825 by an act of the General Assembly. Georgia's 66th county was formed entirely from the eastern portion of Early County. Two counties were created entirely from Baker County: Dougherty and Mitchell. Additionally, Portions of Baker County were used to help create two other counties: Calhoun and Miller. Baker County was named for Col. John Baker, who was a member of Georgia's 1775 Provincial Congress and later served in the American Revolution.

Click on the image below for an interactive road map.

Annexation and Deannexation Reporting << Click Here >>

Southwest Georgia

Regional Commission


181 East Broad Street

Camilla, GA, 31730



(229)522-3558 fax

Print | Sitemap
© Southwest Georgia Regional Commission